New Jersey First Offender
You are DWI in New Jersey if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher.
DWI First Offense Penalties If Convicted
12 hours to 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day, and served at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Also, at the discretion of the Court, a possible term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days.
Not less than $250 nor more than $400. Plus, a New Jersey DMV Surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years.
Not less than six months nor more than one year.
Your problem with alcohol will be assessed and you must satisfy the program and fee requirements of an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or participate in a program of alcohol education and highway safety. 1st offenders - 6 hours of classes on 2 consecutive days costing $150.
First offense committed in school zone
Jail: Up to 60 days
Fine: $500 to $800
License Suspension: Minimum of one year; up to two years.
Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers
These centers, located if different counties, have the capability of serving as community treatment referral centers and as court monitors of a person's compliance with the ordered treatment, service alternative or community service.
If you refuse a breath, blood, or urine test, your license will be suspended for a period of six months.
If you are under 21 with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.01% or more, but less than 0.10%, you will lose your license or be prohibited from obtaining a license for a period of 30 to 90 days, and you will perform community service for a period of not less than 15 or more than 30 days.
In addition, you must satisfy the program and fee requirements of an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or participate in a program of alcohol education and highway safety (see above).
The Division of Motor Vehicles must also impose a mandatory insurance surcharge from $3,000 to $3,500. Your insurance rates will probably climb considerably even with out the surcharge, and your insurance carrier may drop you. The rates for family members and sometimes your employer can increase as well.
More Serious Charges
You may be charged with felony DUI (possibly leading to much greater penalties) if you are involved in a crash involving serious injury or death.