Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
D.C.
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Mass.
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
N.Carolina
N.Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
S.Carolina
S.Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
W.Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
Law Firm Website Design Companies : The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

North Carolina DUI Information and Laws

  DUI Laws & Info  -   POSTED: 2007/01/11 01:07


North Carolina First Offender

DWI (Driving While Impaired) can be proven by proving the driver's physical or mental fitness are appreciably impaired by alcohol, drugs or a combination of both; or by proving the driver's blood/alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or more.

First Conviction:
Mandatory revocation of your driver license for a period of one year. A $50 restoration fee is required when the revocation results from a DWI conviction.

Minimum Punishment:
Fine up to $100 and not less than 24 hours imprisonment; 24 hours of community service; 30 days without a limited driving privilege or any combination of these.

Maximum Punishment:
Fine up to $2,000 and not less than 14 days or more than 24 months imprisonment.

Alcohol and Substance Abuse Assessment:
Anyone convicted of DWI must obtain a substance abuse assessment prior to the reinstatement of driving privileges. Persons with high blood/alcohol contents (BACs) must be checked to see if they might have an alcohol problem.

DWI School:
North Carolina mandates alcohol safety school and/or substance abuse treatment for DWI offenders. N.C. requires even those with lower BACs to attend alcohol safety schools.

Alcohol and Drug Education Traffic School (ADETS) is the level you are assigned to if you have never had a DWI or drinking and driving offense in their entire life, had a Breathalyzer reading of .14 or less, did not refuse the Breathalyzer, and the you initial assessment does not find an alcohol or drug abuse problem. ADETS is a 10-hour program with a cost of $75.00.

Either your mandated assessment or a high BAC can lead to short-term, intermediate Substance Abuse Treatment Program, or an Intensive Outpatient Treatment Program.

Refusal to Take Test:
Refusal to perform any required test will result in the immediate revocation of your driver license for at least 30 days and an additional, minimum 12-month revocation by the DMV. In certain instances, after six months of the willful refusal revocation has elapsed, the judge may issue a limited driving privilege.

Over .16 BAC:
A conviction of Driving While Impaired with a Blood Alcohol Concentration greater than 0.16 will require an ignition interlock device to be installed on the vehicle.

Under 21:
If you are less than 21 years old and are convicted for an offense of driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs in your body, your license will be revoked for one year


Legal News | Breaking News | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Law Firm Website Design by Law Promo

ⓒ Breaking Legal News. All Rights Reserved.

The content contained on the web site has been prepared by BLN as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice or a substitute for consultation with a licensed legal professional in a particular case.
   More Legal News
   Legal Spotlight
   Exclusive Commentaries
   Attorney & Blog - Blog Watch
   Law Firm News  1  2  3  4  5  6 
   Lawyer & Law Firm Links
San Francisco Trademark Lawyer
San Francisco Copyright Lawyer
www.onulawfirm.com
Chicago Business Lawyer
Cook County Contract Law
www.rothlawgroup.com
Canton Criminal Lawyer
Canton DUI lawyer
www.cantoncriminalattorney.com
Surry County Criminal Defense Lawyers
Yadkin County Family Law Attorneys
www.dirussolaw.com
Orange County Forensic Accountant
Orange County Business Valuations
www.crosscor.com
Oregon DUI Law Attorney
Eugene DUI Lawyer. Criminal Defense Law
www.mjmlawoffice.com
Palm Beach Construction Law Attorney
Florida Construction Law
Wellington Construction Law
palmbeachconstructionlaw.org
Houston Car Accident Attorneys
Wrongful Death Attorneys Houston
Houston Wrongful Death
New York Adoption Lawyers
New York Foster Care Lawyers
Adoption Pre-Certification
www.lawrsm.com
Eugene Bankruptcy Attorney
Bankruptcy Attorney Eugene
willamettevalleybankruptcy.com
   More Legal News  1  2  3  4  5  6
   Legal News Links
  Click The Law
  Daily Bar News
  The Legal Voice
  The Legal Report
  Legal News Post
  Crisis Legal News
  Legal News Journal
  Law Firm Logos
  Eugene Criminal Defense Law
  Attorney Web Design
  Law Firm Directory