Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
D.C.
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Mass.
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
N.Carolina
N.Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
S.Carolina
S.Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
W.Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
Law Firm Website Design Companies : The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Tennessee First Offender DUI Laws

  DUI Laws & Info  -   POSTED: 2007/01/15 18:01


Tennessee First Offender

You are DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Tennessee if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher.

First Offense Penalties:

Jail

Jail sentences may range from 48 hours to 11 months, 29 days.

Fines / Fees/ Expenses

Minimum $350. The state estimates that a first offense DUI (Driving Under the Influence) charge could add up to about $4,900 in fees, fines, and related expenses.

License Revocation

License revocation for 1 year.

Education

Court ordered participation in alcohol and drug safety DUI school and/or drug offender school program if available.

Restitution

Payment of restitution if physical injury or personal loss were involved and you are economically capable of making such restitution.

Community Service

200 hours, if the population of your metropolitan area is over 100,000 (may serve in lieu of 48 hours minimum imprisonment).

Assessment / Treatment

Depth of treatment is determined by assessment. Participation in an alcohol safety DWI program is required as part of probation.

Most Aggravated Drunk Driver

If your BAC was .20% or greater, you are considered a "most aggravated drunk driver", subject to a minimum jail time of seven (7) consecutive calendar days.

Restricted License

You can obtain a restricted license if no prior DUI and no other revocations or suspensions are against your driver record. You will have to:

Obtain an order from the judge.
Pay a $67.00 driver license fee.
File SR-22 insurance.
Show proof of liability insurance in effect on date of violation.
Take complete driver license examination (eye, law, and road).
Test Refusal

If you refuse a breath, blood , or urine test, your license will be revoked for 12 months, or 24 months if a crash resulted in bodily harm, or 5 years if a crash resulted in death.

Under 21

You are DUI if you had any alcohol at all in your system. Penalties listed for underage drivers with a BAC greater than 0.02% are loss of license for a year, a $250 fine and public service.

Insurance

Your insurance rates will probably climb considerably, and your insurance carrier may drop you. The rates for family members and sometimes your employer can increase as well.

More Serious Charges

You may be charged with felony DUI (possibly leading to much greater penalties) if you are involved in a crash involving serious injury or death.


Legal News | Breaking News | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Law Firm Web Design by Law Promo

ⓒ Breaking Legal News. All Rights Reserved.

The content contained on the web site has been prepared by BLN as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice or a substitute for consultation with a licensed legal professional in a particular case.
   More Legal News
   Legal Spotlight
   Exclusive Commentaries
   Attorney & Blog - Blog Watch
   Law Firm News  1  2  3  4  5  6 
   Lawyer & Law Firm Links
San Francisco Trademark Lawyer
San Francisco Copyright Lawyer
www.onulawfirm.com
New Rochelle Accidents Attorneys
New Rochelle Personal Injury
www.kboattorneys.com
Chicago Business Lawyer
Cook County Contract Law
www.rothlawgroup.com
Canton Criminal Lawyer
Canton DUI lawyer
www.cantoncriminalattorney.com
Surry County Criminal Defense Lawyers
Yadkin County Family Law Attorneys
www.dirussolaw.com
Oregon DUI Law Attorney
Eugene DUI Lawyer. Criminal Defense Law
www.mjmlawoffice.com
Palm Beach Construction Law Attorney
Florida Construction Law
Wellington Construction Law
palmbeachconstructionlaw.org
Houston Car Accident Attorneys
Wrongful Death Attorneys Houston
Houston Wrongful Death
New York Adoption Lawyers
New York Foster Care Lawyers
Adoption Pre-Certification
www.lawrsm.com
Santa Ana Workers' Compensation Lawyers
www.gentryashtonlaw.com
Indianapolis personal injury lawyer
Brain injury lawyer Indianapolis
www.rwp-law.com
Eugene Bankruptcy Attorney
Bankruptcy Attorney Eugene
willamettevalleybankruptcy.com
   More Legal News  1  2  3  4  5  6
   Legal News Links
  Click The Law
  Daily Bar News
  The Legal Voice
  The Legal Report
  Legal News Post
  Crisis Legal News
  Legal News Journal
  Law Firm Logos
  Eugene Criminal Defense Law
  Attorney Web Design
  Immigration Law Web Design
  Law Firm Directory